At the far reaches of Champagne and at the edge of the Argonne Forest, Sainte-Ménehould is a town that’s picturesque and welcoming at the same time. Once called “Chateau-sur-Aisne”, the town owes its name to Manehildis, distinguished by her devotion and generosity during the 5th Century. Dom Pérignon was born here in 1639. Jean-Baptiste Drouet, postmaster, brought about the arrest of Louis XVI in June 1791. The town was destroyed by a fire in 1719 and rebuilt from 1730, in an 18th-Century architectural style, with the most beautiful buildings being the town hall and the Viard hotel, which is now the remarkable Museum of Art & History.



Tourism Office of Pays d'Argonne 
5 Place du Général Leclerc - 51800 Sainte-Ménehould
T (0)3 26 60 85 83